Twenty (Nine) Questions.

I find it pretty hard to describe who I am to anyone. Even myself. I did some searching on the web and I saw an article entitled How to Get to Know Yourself: 29 Questions to Discover the Real You. I liked the nature of these questions, so I decided to answer them. For those of you that don’t know me, now you have the opportunity to. For those of you who do know me, hopefully, this will help you get to know me just a little better.

  1. What activity in your life lights you up with joy? For me, that would be going to a concert. Once you experience live music, listening to an album just doesn’t do it for you anymore.  Going to concerts is a full-fledged addiction for me at this point. 
  2. What is something you always love doing, even when you are tired or rushed? Why? Listening to music. There’s not much more to explain. 
  3. If a relationship or job makes you unhappy, do you choose to stay or leave? Life is too short to be unhappy. Value your happiness and self-worth; I would leave unapologetically. 
  4. What do you fear about leaving a bad job or a bad relationship? That I will miss out on all the good things those two have to offer. 
  5. What do you believe is possible for you? Anything I put my mind to. 
  6. What have you done in your life that you are most proud of? Working my way to being in the top of my class and having very little help on the way. 
  7. What is the thing that you are second most proud of? I mastered the skill of taking accountability. I am willing to admit my mistakes and my faults. 
  8. What kind of legacy do you want to leave behind? I want to be known as the girl who never gave up, even when the odds were statistically against her. 
  9. How does your being here in the universe change humanity for the better? This question hurts me because I’m not entirely sure I’m changing humanity. I want to be a person that makes people smile, and maybe that will change humanity somehow? 
  10. If you could have one single wish granted, what would it be? I would love to travel the world and not have to worry about expenses. 
  11. How comfortable are you with your own mortality? Kinda scares me not going to lie.  
  12. What is your highest core value? Accountability. 
  13. To your best knowledge, how do other people perceive you? Well I mean this depends on how you perceive me, good or bad. We will focus on the good. I think people think I’m different but in a good way. They see me as the girl who is always there to quote a Vine or any line of Spongebob. The girl who is terrible at making decisions, and who laughs (and occasionally wheezes) really loud. She’s annoying but she’s also fun to be around (most of the time). 
  14. How would you like others to perceive you? Someone who I can always count on to talk about anything. (I swear that I am.) A girl that I genuinely want to be around. 
  15. How confident are you in your abilities to make decisions for yourself? I am a terrible decison maker when I have to do it on the spot. When I have time to think, I (think?) I do alright. 
  16. What is your biggest self-limiting beliefThat my looks limit what I will allow myself to achieve. 
  17. Who is the most important person in your life? My dad. Good ole Don. 
  18. Who is your greatest role model? My uncle Murrell. 
  19. Who is a person that you don’t like yet you spend time with? I don’t spend time with people I don’t enjoy, that’s just a waste of my time. 
  20. What is something that is true for you no matter what? Coffee is good any time of the day. 
  21. What is your moral compass in making difficult decisions? “How do you ever know for certain that you are doing the right thing?” (This quote is from a book called All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, a must-read.)
  22. What is one failure that you have turned into your greatest lesson? Letting someone down that I didn’t want to. But it made me learn that you will never please everyone.
  23. What role does gratitude play in your life? My life, even though I sometimes let the worst days and feeling get to me, is amazing. I am so thankful that I have ever experienced, learned, and have been given. 
  24. How do you feel about your parents? I mean they gave me life so, is there much to debate there? I will always be thankful for every lesson I learned through  them and from them. 
  25. How is your relationship with money? I am so good at spending you but I am terrible at saving you. 
  26. How do you feel about growing old someday? It terrifies me, but I am curious to see how this will go. 
  27. What role has formal education played in your life and how do you feel about it? Receiving education inside of the classroom is valuable, and the education you receive outside of school is important as well. I will never stop learning because it has impacted me so much in the short 17 years I have been on the planet.
  28. Do you believe your destiny is pre-determined or in your hands to shape however you wish? I believe in free will. You choose what you want to make of yourself. 
  29. What do you believe is the meaning of your life? I have no idea but I hope I find this out soon. 

If you read all of these, you’re a trooper.

Leave a Reply

